Illinois Soybean Association Elects New Leadership


Illinois Soybean Association Elects New Leadership

CHAMPAIGN, ILL – August 1, 2019 – The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) during its annual meeting in Champaign today elected new leadership.

Doug Schroeder, Mahomet, was elected chairman. Schroeder raises soybeans and seed corn along with his wife, Stacy, son, Bob, and son-in-law, Matt. Schroeder previously served as the organization’s vice-chairman for two years.

“ISA continues to advance forward-thinking strategies to help the state’s 43,000 soybean producers, which is especially important this year. Our profitability is challenged by trade wars and the weather, which make checkoff investment decisions even more critical,” says Schroeder. “I look forward to working with the new board to provide insightful, guided industry leadership.”

Other executive committee members include Vice-Chairman Steve Pitstick, Maple Park; Treasurer Jim Martin, Pontiac; Secretary Rick Rubenacker, McLeansboro; and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Scott Gaffner, Greenville. Joining the executive committee are David Wessel, Chandlerville, as Production and Outreach Committee chair and Roberta Simpson-Dolbeare, Nebo, as Marketing Committee chair.

New at-large directors were elected by state soybean producers in attendance and include: Betsey Emerick, Vandalia and Tim Scates, Carmi.

New district directors seated include Dwayne Anderson, Lynn Center, District 3; David Niekamp, Coatsburg, District 8; Ron Kindred, Atlanta, District 9; and Jeff Parker, Belleville, District 15.

Four American Soybean Association (ASA) representatives were elected and include: Ron Moore, Roseville; Stan Born, Lovington; Bill Raben, Ridgway; and Rob Shaffer, El Paso.

ISA has a total board of 18 district directors and six at-large directors from throughout the state who work on behalf of Illinois soybean producers and the checkoff. Each board member serves on the Production and Outreach Committee or the Marketing Committee. To learn more about becoming a board member for ISA, visit  

The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) checkoff and membership programs represent more than 43,000 soybean farmers in Illinois. The checkoff funds market development, soybean production and profitability research, issues analysis, communications and education. Membership and advocacy efforts support Illinois soybean farmer interests in local areas, Springfield and Washington, D.C., through the Illinois Soybean Growers. ISA programs are designed to ensure Illinois soy is the highest quality, most dependable, sustainable and competitive in the global marketplace.  For more information, visit the website


For more information, contact:
Rachel Peabody