CHAMPAIGN, ILL – July 29, 2021 – The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) elected new leadership during its board meeting today.

Steve Pitstick, District 2, was elected Chairman after having served as ISA Vice Chairman for the previous two years. Steve produces corn and soybeans near Maple Park, Ill. He holds an associate’s degree from Kishwaukee Community College and has been active previously with the Kane County Farmland Protection Commission, Kaneland Sports Boosters, Kane County Farm Bureau and his church. Pitstick also has participated in the Illinois Ag Leadership Program, Illinois Ag Leadership Foundation, Agriculture Leaders of Tomorrow and served as a Soy Ambassador. He currently also works as an advisor to startup ag tech companies.

“With an ambitious strategic plan, a committed board, and a talented staff in place, there’s a renewed energy to move the organization forward to even greater accomplishments,” says Pitstick. “FY21 has been a year of significant growth for the organization, and laid the foundation for unprecedented opportunities ahead.”

Continues Pitstick, “I’m proud to serve a board that puts our farmers at the center of our work, programs, and messaging. We are working to deliver what farmers expect from their checkoff program.”

Other elected executive committee members include: Vice-Chairman Ron Kindred, Treasurer Dwayne Anderson, Secretary Elliott Uphoff, and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer David Wessel. Joining the executive committee are Brad Daugherty as Government Relations Committee chair, Jim Martin as Utilization Committee chair, and Scott Gaffner as Market Development Committee chair.

District directors seated include: Steve Pitstick (District 2), Elliott Uphoff (District 10), Brad Daugherty (District 14), Brian Atteberry (District 15), Nick Harre (District 17), and Matt Murray (District 11).

At-large directors seated include: Scott Gaffner and David Wessel. Two American Soybean Association (ASA) representatives were also elected: Daryl Cates and Roberta Simpson-Dolbeare.

ISA has a total board of 18 district directors and six at-large directors from throughout the state who work on behalf of Illinois soybean producers and the checkoff. Each board member serves one of the following committees: Government Relations, Utilization, or Market Development. To learn more about becoming a board member for ISA, visit

The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) checkoff and membership programs represent more than 43,000 soybean farmers in Illinois. The checkoff funds market development and utilization efforts while the membership program supports the government relations interests of Illinois soybean farmers at the local, state, and national level, through the Illinois Soybean Growers (ISG). ISA upholds the interests of Illinois soybean producers through promotion, advocacy, and education with the vision of becoming a market leader in sustainable soybean production and profitability. For more information, visit the website


For more information, contact: 

Rachel Peabody
Director of Communications
Illinois Soybean Association
(217) 825-7654

Published On: July 29, 2021Categories: Latest News, Press ReleasesTags:

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!