BLOOMINGTON, ILL – April 15, 2024 – The American Soybean Association (ASA) is now accepting applications for two director positions. ASA directors may serve a maximum of three, three-year terms. Both directors whose seats are up for election are eligible for an additional term.

ASA Director eligibility requirements indicate that candidates:

  • Must be a member of the Illinois Soybean Growers, an affiliate of the American Soybean Association (Visit to join)
  • Must be a producer of soybeans as a farm owner, farm manager, or farm operator
  • May not be an officer or director of any other national soybean policy organization
  • Must be elected by the Illinois Soybean Growers Board of Directors

All eligible candidates will be invited to interview with the ISG Board of Directors during their July 2024 Board Meeting in Champaign, Illinois prior to the election being conducted at the same meeting. Seating on the ASA Board will take place during ASA’s December 2024 meeting in St. Louis, Missouri. No write-in provision exists for the ASA director elections.

Interested applicants should complete the online application by 4:00 PM Central Time on Friday, July 9, 2024.

Additionally, the Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) seeks qualified candidates to fill board seats representing six districts that are up for election in 2024:

  • District 2: Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kankakee, Lake, McHenry, Will
  • District 10: Christian, DeWitt, Macon, Moultrie, Shelby
  • District 11: Champaign, Coles, Douglas, Edgar, Piatt
  • District 14: Clark, Crawford, Cumberland, Effingham, Jasper
  • District 16: Clay, Edwards, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, White
  • District 17: Jackson, Jefferson, Perry, Randolph, Washington

The ISA board is comprised of 18 district directors and six at-large directors. Board members serve a term of three years and are eligible for three total terms. Directors currently seated in all six districts are eligible for additional terms.

Eligibility to serve requires candidates be Illinois residents of legal voting age that contribute to the soybean checkoff. Candidates must also be residents within the district and maintain eligibility during their term(s). The time a director devotes to the organization depends on their level of leadership and representation needs.

To be placed on the ballot, petitions must be completed and filed with the Illinois Department of Agriculture (IDOA) in Springfield no later than 5:00 PM Central Time on May 15, 2024. A candidate’s petition must carry the signatures of at least 250 of the qualified producers from the district where the candidate seeks office, or five percent of farmers within the district, whichever is less. Petitions are available by contacting Dustin Scott, ISA Director of Operations, at or 309-846-3673.

Those wishing to run as a write-in candidate must also meet the eligibility requirements and submit a Declaration of Intent to IDOA no later than 5:00 PM CST on June 28, 2024. This form is available through IDOA in Springfield by contacting Rachel Hettrick at Elections will be held on July 2, 2024, at the University of Illinois County Extension Offices in each district.

Please contact ISA Director of Operations, Dustin Scott, at or 309-846-3673 with questions or for additional information.


The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) checkoff and membership programs represent more than 43,000 soybean farmers in Illinois. The checkoff funds market development, soybean production and government relations efforts, while the membership program, Illinois Soybean Growers (ISG) and the Illinois Soybean Growers PAC actively advocates for positive and impactful legislation for farmers at local, state and national levels. ISA upholds the interests of Illinois soybean farmers through promotion, advocacy, research and education with the vision of becoming a trusted partner of Illinois soybean farmers to ensure their profitability now and for future generations. For more information, visit the website  and

Media Contact

Michael Whitmer
Illinois Soybean Association
(309) 391-2091

Published On: April 10, 2024Categories: Latest News, Press ReleasesTags: ,

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!