CHAMPAIGN, ILL – July 29, 2020 – The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) elected new leadership during its board meeting today.

Doug Schroeder, Mahomet, was re-elected chairman. Schroeder raises soybeans and seed corn along with his wife Stacy, his son Bob, and his son-in-law Matt. Schroeder also previously served as the organization’s vice-chairman for two years.

“We just approved a new strategic plan, and with a great board and staff in place, there’s a renewed energy to move the organization forward to even greater heights. The year 2020 has presented its share of struggles, but it’s going to be a dynamic year for the soybean checkoff and membership programs,” says Schroeder. “I look forward to implementing our new mission statement as we uphold the interests of Illinois soybean producers through promotion, advocacy, and education.”

Other executive committee members include Vice-Chairman Steve Pitstick, Maple Park; Treasurer Dwayne Anderson, Lynn Center; Secretary Elliott Uphoff, Shelbyville; and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Scott Gaffner, Greenville. Joining the executive committee are Ron Kindred, Atlanta, as Government Relations Committee chair; David Wessel, Chandlerville, as Utilization Committee chair; and Rick Rubenacker, McLeansboro, as Market Development Committee chair.

District directors seated include Ryan Frieders, Waterman, District 1; Mark Read, Putnam, District 5; Bryan Severs, Potomac, District 7; Ron Kindred, Atlanta, District 9; Brock Willard, Pittsfield, District 12; and Ed Murphy, Farmersville, District 13.

Two American Soybean Association (ASA) representatives were also elected: Jered Hooker, Clinton and Bill Wykes, Yorkville.

ISA has a total board of 18 district directors and six at-large directors from throughout the state who work on behalf of Illinois soybean producers and the checkoff. Each board member serves one of the following committees: Government Relations, Utilization, or Market Development. To learn more about becoming a board member for ISA, visit

The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) checkoff and membership programs represent more than 43,000 soybean farmers in Illinois. The checkoff funds market development, soybean production and profitability research, issues analysis, communications and education. Membership and advocacy efforts support Illinois soybean farmer interests in local areas, Springfield and Washington, D.C., through the Illinois Soybean Growers. ISA programs are designed to ensure Illinois soy is the highest quality, most dependable, sustainable and competitive in the global marketplace.  For more information, visit the website


For more information, contact:

Rachel Peabody
Director of Communications

Published On: July 29, 2020Categories: Latest News, Press ReleasesTags:

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!