Press Release

Petitions Available for Illinois Soybean Board District Director Elections

April 05, 2016



Petitions Available for Illinois Soybean Board District Director Elections


BLOOMINGTON, ILL. - April 5, 2016 - Petitions are available for growers interested in running for open director positions with the Illinois Soybean Board (ISB).  Petitions can be obtained from the Illinois Department of Agriculture, local University of Illinois Extension offices and the ISA office.  Petitions must be filed by May 15, 2016.


Six Illinois districts will hold director elections this year:


District 3:       Henderson, Henry, Mercer, Rock Island, Stark, Warren, Whiteside

District 4:       Bureau, Grundy, Kendall, LaSalle     

District 6:       Livingston, McLean, Woodford

District 8:       Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Schuyler

District 15:     Clinton, Madison, Monroe, St. Clair

District 18:   Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Johnson, Massac, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union, Williamson


Due to the tenure provision, as specified in the soybean checkoff program, the directors in District 6 (Rob Shaffer, El Paso, Ill.), and District 18 (Bill Raben, Ridgway, Ill.) are not eligible for re-election.  The directors presently serving in District 3 (John Longley, Aledo, Ill.), District 4 (Sharon Covert, Tiskilwa, Ill.), District 8 (Dale Asher, Sutter, Ill.) and District 15 (Daryl Cates, Columbia, Ill.) are each eligible to serve another three-year term.


To be eligible to serve as a director, a candidate must be an Illinois resident and a resident grower of the district he or she seeks to represent, of legal voting age and be a contributor to the soybean checkoff. Petitions filed with the Illinois Director of Agriculture must contain signatures of at least five percent of the soybean growers from the district. The number of signatures required for the current election is: District 3, 174; District 4, 142; District 6, 154; District 8, 144; District 15, 91; and District 18, 105 signatures. Elections will be held July 7, 2016, at county extension offices in the districts where vacancies exist.


The Illinois Soybean Board (ISB) manages and invests Illinois soybean checkoff funds in research, promotion and education programs that enhance soybean production and use and support national and international market development. For more information, visit the website



For more information, contact:
Amy Roady




Angel Terrell