Press Release

Petitions Available for Illinois Soybean Board District Director Elections

April 01, 2014

BLOOMINGTON, ILL. - April 1, 2014 - Petitions are available for farmers interested in running for open director positions with the Illinois Soybean Board (ISB).  Petitions can be obtained from the Illinois Department of Agriculture, local University of Illinois Extension offices and the ISA office.  Petitions must be filed by May 15, 2014.

Farmers also have the option to be a write-in candidate.  The deadline to request a Declaration of Intent form to be a write-in candidate is 5 p.m. July 1, 2014.  Letters of request should be sent to Illinois Department of Agriculture, Attn: Bob Reese, PO Box 19281, Springfield, IL 62794-9281.

Six Illinois districts will hold director elections this year:

District 1:       Boone, Carroll, DeKalb, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, Winnebago

District 5:       Fulton, Knox, Marshall, Peoria, Putnam, Tazewell

District 7:       Ford, Iroquois, Vermilion

District 9:       Cass, Logan, Mason, Menard, Morgan, Sangamon

District 12:     Calhoun, Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Pike, Scott

District 13:     Bond, Fayette, Marion, Montgomery                                    

Due to the tenure provision, as specified in the soybean checkoff program, the directors in District 5 (Dan Farney, Morton, Ill.), and District 12 (Mark Sprague, New Canton, Ill.) are not eligible for re-election.  The directors presently serving in District 1 (Paul Rasmussen, Genoa, Ill.), District 7 (Mike Marron, Fithian, Ill.), and District 13 (Gary Berg, St. Elmo, Ill.) are each eligible to serve another three-year term.  The director presently serving in District 9 is eligible to serve another three-year term.  However, the District 9 director has decided not to run for another term.

To be eligible to serve as a director, a candidate must be an Illinois resident and a resident grower of the district he or she seeks to represent, of legal voting age and be a contributor to the soybean checkoff.  Petitions filed with the Illinois Director of Agriculture must contain signatures of at least five percent of the soybean growers from the district.  The number of signatures required for the current election is: District 1, 178; District 5, 155; District 7, 121; District 9, 135; District 12, 128; and District 13, 109 signatures.

Elections will be held July 8, 2014, at county Extension offices in the districts where vacancies exist.  Those elected will be seated for a three-year term Aug. 1, 2014. 

The Illinois Soybean Board (ISB) manages and invests Illinois soybean checkoff funds in research, promotion and education programs that enhance soybean production and use and support national and international market development.  For more information, visit the website


For more information, contact:
Amy Roady

Angel M Terrell