Press Release

ISA Recognizes Industry Leaders and Retiring Directors

December 15, 2015



ISA Recognizes Industry Leaders and Retiring Directors


BLOOMINGTON, ILL - December 15, 2015 – This week the Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) honored industry leaders and recognized retiring directors at their annual awards ceremony and board meeting, which is funded in part by the Illinois soybean checkoff.


“In each of our target areas we work with many groups and individuals, without which we could not achieve our goals,” says Daryl Cates, soybean farmer from Columbia, Ill., and ISA chairman. “We are here today to honor and thank those people for their efforts to support soybeans and the soybean industry.”


Honorees are acknowledged in each of ISA's five target areas:

  • Excellence in Animal Agriculture -- The Maschhoffs, owners of the largest family-owned hog production network in North America headquartered in Carlyle, Ill., and owned by fifth-generation family members Dave and Karen Maschhoff and Ken and Julie Maschhoff. ISA awards Excellence in Animal Agriculture to someone who helps ISA increase worldwide consumption of Illinois soybeans and soy products and who assists with retaining and growing Illinois' animal agriculture industry.
  • Excellence in Transportation – Benjamin Brockschmidt, executive director of the Infrastructure Council and vice president of policy for the Illinois Chamber of Commerce. The Excellence in Transportation Award honors someone who helps develop, expand or secure greater efficiencies and transportation opportunities for soybean products.
  • Excellence in Yield, Composition and Profitability – Howard Brown, director of Nutrient Management and Environmental Stewardship for Growmark, Inc.  The Excellence in Yield, Composition and Profitability award recognizes an individual who identifies, develops and influences production solutions that provide farmers with a competitive edge.
  • Excellence in Freedom to Operate – Bridget Owen, executive director for the Soy Aquaculture Alliance.  The Excellence in Freedom to Operate Award winner is recognized for efforts that help Illinois soybean farmers protect current markets, open new markets or advocate for public policies that eliminate farming roadblocks.
  • Excellence in Leadership (Organizational Excellence) – Dwain Ford, past ISA chairman and United Soybean Board member. The Excellence in Leadership Award recognizes the efforts of an individual who goes out of their way to develop and establish a global competitive position for Illinois soybeans and soy products.


The group also recognized those who have given their time to the board throughout the years. They include Duane Dahlman, Don Guinnip and Mike Marron.

Dahlman most recently served on the board as the chair of the ISA Marketing Committee and as a director from District 2. Before that, he was an at-large director for ISA. He raises corn and soybeans on his farm near Marengo, Ill.

Guinnip most recently served on the ISA board as chair of the ISA Production Committee and as a director from District 14. He farms corn and soybeans on his farm in Marshall, Ill.

Marron most recently was vice-chair for the board and is now the chairman of the Vermilion County Board. He is a fifth-generation corn and soybean farmer from Fithian, Ill.


To learn more about ISA and future board seat openings, visit


The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) represents more than 43,000 soybean farmers in Illinois through the state soybean checkoff and membership efforts.  The checkoff funds market development, soybean production and profitability research, promotion, issues management and analysis, communications and education.  Membership and advocacy efforts support Illinois soybean farmer interests in local areas, Springfield and Washington, D.C.  ISA programs are designed to ensure Illinois soy is the highest quality, most dependable, sustainable and competitive in the global marketplace.  For more information, visit the website



For more information, contact:

Amy Roady



Photo cutline: 2015 ISA award winners stand with chairman Daryl Cates. From left to right: David Droste, ISA board member accepting on behalf of the Maschhoffs, Bridget Owen, Benjamin Brockschmidt, Cates and Howard Brown.