Press Release

Illinois Soybean Association Elects Leaders to Execute New Strategic Plan

July 29, 2016

Illinois Soybean Association Elects Leaders to Execute New Strategic Plan
July 29, 2016 – Springfield, IL – Today the Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) checkoff and membership programs elected two new board members and re-instated its current executive committee for a second term at the board's annual meeting in Springfield, Ill.
Daryl Cates, of Columbia, was re-elected as chairman.  The rest of the re-instated executive committee includes Lynn Rohrscheib, Fairmount, as vice chairman; Stan Born, Dunlap, as treasurer; Doug Schroeder, Mahomet, as secretary; Jered Hooker, Clinton, as assistant secretary-treasurer; John Longley, Aledo, as production and outreach committee chair; and John Hagenbuch, Utica, as marketing committee chair.
“We will concentrate on a new strategic plan in my second year as chairman.  I want to help lead the board and share our new focus with Illinois farmers,” Cates says. “I’m excited about our future. I want Illinois farmers to be engaged with checkoff and membership programs that reflect our changing needs.”
ISA’s new board-approved strategic plan focuses on the primary audiences of farmers, stakeholders and customers. It will be implemented starting Sept. 1, and includes a new initiative focused on Chicago. ISA's mission remains ensuring that Illinois soy is the highest quality, most dependable, sustainable and competitive in the global marketplace.
The strategic plan features the following objectives:
- Promote preference of Illinois soy for export markets, biodiesel and animal agriculture.
- Optimize farmer profitability through business management, yield and sustainable production practices.
- Expand the influence and reach of ISA through member, corporate, industry and advocacy efforts that positively impact Illinois soybean farmers.
- Ensure Illinois soybeans and soybean products reach their intended destination efficiently.
- Increase effective, progressive leadership in the organization.
Cates says the new plan allows for a more focused slate of projects to help soybean producers hit their goal of using 600 million bushels of soybeans by 2020. The group approved funding for projects under each of the areas in June. 
New board members include James Martin, Pontiac, to represent District 6 and Rick Rubenacker, McLeansboro, to represent District 18. Jeff Lynn, Oakford, and Lynn Rohrscheib, Fairmount, were re-elected to at-large positions. The board elected American Soybean Association (ASA) representatives. Ron Moore, current ASA vice president from Roseville, was re-elected and is joined by Bill Raben of Ridgway, Stan Born and Rob Shaffer of El Paso.
ISA has a total board of 18 district directors and six at-large directors throughout the state who work on behalf of Illinois soybean growers and the checkoff. To learn more about becoming a board member for ISA, visit
Daryl Cates previously served as assistant treasurer-secretary, before being elected to chairman in 2015. He farms near Columbia. He holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Illinois in agronomy, and currently raises corn, soybeans and wheat. Cates also is a DuPont Pioneer seed sales representative. He is the chairman on the American Soybean Association's World Initiative for Soy in Human Health (WISHH) board. He previously was on the ISA board as a member of the executive committee, as well as the United Soybean Board and American Soybean Development Foundation. Cates is a Farm Bureau member and active in his church.
Lynn Rohrscheib previously served as secretary and at-large director, before being elected to vice chair in 2015. Rohrscheib farms near Fairmount as part of a family operation that also includes a custom application business. She has a degree in plant and soil sciences from Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Rohrscheib is currently a board member of the United Soybean Board. She was a 2013 member of the American Soybean Association DuPont Pioneer Young Leader class, and has held leadership positions with the Illinois FFA Alumni Council. She is active with the Vermilion County Farm Bureau and is a county election judge.
Stan Born previously served as a district director for ISA and was a member of the Production Committee before being elected to secretary in 2015. He also is a board member for WISHH. He raises corn and soybeans and was previously an ISA Soy Ambassador. He also is the finance team leader at his church.  Born and wife, Theresa, have two children.  He has a chemical engineering degree from the University of Illinois, and more than 30 years of industrial leadership experience with Caterpillar, Inc.
Doug Schroeder was an Illinois Soybean Association district director and member of the ISA Marketing Committee, before being elected to treasurer in 2015.  He raises seed corn and soybeans.  He is a graduate of the University of Illinois and Illinois Ag Leadership program and was an American Soybean Association DuPont Pioneer Young Leader.  He has been active with the Cunningham Children's Home, Mahomet Area Youth Club and Lion's Club and McLean County Farm Bureau.  He and his wife, Stacy, have three children.  
Jered Hooker previously served as vice chair for the ISA Production Committee before being elected to assistant secretary-treasurer. He currently is a board member of the North Central Soybean Research Promotion (NCSRP). His farm has been owned by the family since 1875.  Hooker was an ISA Soy Ambassador. Other activities include Illinois Corn Growers, DeWitt County Farm Bureau and Chicago Farmers.  He earned a doctor of philosophy degree from the University of Illinois.
John Longley farms near Aledo where he raises corn and soybeans and farms with his daughter, Kate Danner.  He has a bachelor's degree from the University of Illinois in farm management and a master's degree from the University of Illinois in agronomy.  Longley has served the Mercer County Farm Bureau as president and in other leadership roles and been active in the Illinois Farm Bureau.  He is a previous Illinois Ag Leadership Foundation participant.  Longley and wife, Carol, have two children.
John Hagenbuch is from Utica, where he raises soybeans and hogs with his wife, Kate, and is also a precision farming specialist. He previously was an at-large director and vice chair of the ISA Marketing Committee. He has an associate’s degree in swine management. Hagenbuch is a member of the Illinois Pork Producers Association (IPPA) and is on the executive committee for the U.S. Meat Export Federation (USMEF). He also is a past DuPont Young Leader and ISA Soy Ambassador.
The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) checkoff and membership programs represent more than 43,000 soybean farmers in Illinois.  The checkoff funds market development, soybean production and profitability research, issues analysis, communications and education.  Membership and advocacy efforts support Illinois soybean farmer interests in local areas, Springfield and Washington, D.C., through the Illinois Soybean Growers. ISA programs are designed to ensure Illinois soy is the highest quality, most dependable, sustainable and competitive in the global marketplace.  For more information, visit the website

For more information contact:

Amy Roady

Jayne Godfrey