Press Release

Illinois Farmer Elected to American Soybean Association Executive Committee

December 05, 2013
BLOOMINGTON, ILL – December 5, 2013 – Ron Moore, soybean farmer from Roseville, Ill., and Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) at-large director, was elected this week to serve on the American Soybean Association (ASA) Executive Committee as one of four vice presidents.  Moore, along with Illinois soybean farmers Dean Campbell, Coulterville, Ill., and Mike Cunningham, Bismarck, Ill, represent Illinois on the ASA board of directors,
"I am happy to serve Illinois soybean farmers on the ASA board of directors, and honored and humbled to serve on the ASA executive team.  I look forward to working with other national leaders to improve our profitability and to advocate on key issues in Washington, D.C.," he says.
Moore sits on the ISA Production Committee and is a past ISA chairman. He has a corn, soybean, alfalfa and feeder cattle operation and raises seed beans.  Moore has been involved with the Illinois Council on Food and Agricultural Research, Illinois Livestock Development Group, Soybean Research & Development Council, Illinois Agricultural Legislative Roundtable and numerous other groups.  He is a graduate of the Ag Leaders of Tomorrow and Illinois Ag Leadership Program and has been active with the National Sustainable Ag Standards Committee.
Ray Gaesser from Corning, Iowa, was elected ASA president.  Board members also elected Wade Cowan from Brownfield, Texas, to serve as first vice president.  Other members of the executive committee include Secretary Wyatt Whitford, Ernul, N.C.; and Treasurer Richard Wilkins, Greenwood, Del.  In addition to Moore, Bob Worth of Lake Benton, Minn., Bob Henry of Robinson, Kan., and Kevin Hoyer of West Salem, Wisc., were elected as vice presidents.
Elections were held in St. Louis during ASA's annual winter board meeting.  The meeting also served as a venue to celebrate retiring directors' service, including Ron Kindred, Atlanta, Ill.  Moore is filling the Illinois slot that opened following Kindred's retirement.  The Executive Committee will meet in Iowa next week to finalize plans, task forces and committees for 2014.
The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) represents more than 45,000 soybean farmers in Illinois through the state soybean checkoff and membership efforts.  The checkoff funds market development, soybean production and profitability research, promotion, issues management and analysis, communications and education.  Membership and advocacy efforts support Illinois soybean farmer interests in local areas, Springfield and Washington, D.C.  ISA programs are designed to ensure Illinois soy is the highest quality, most dependable, sustainable and competitive in the global marketplace.  For more information, visit the website
For more information, contact:
Amy Roady