ISA Seats New Directors, Elects 2013-14 Executive Committee ISA this week elected its 2013-14 leadership and seated new directors to its board. Bill Raben, Ridgway, was elected to serve as chairman for the new year. Other executive committee members include Mike Marron, Fithian, as vice chairman;... Read more
Illinois Soybean Growers Annual Meeting is July 31 Pursuant to Article III, Section 3, of the Bylaws of the Illinois Soybean Growers (ISG), notice is hereby given that the annual meeting of the members of the Illinois Soybean Growers will be held July 31, convening at 11 a.m. at the Embassy Suites... Read more
Illinois Soybean Members Visit Hill to Talk Farm Bill; House Passes Farm-Only Version In a party-line vote of 216-208, the U.S. House of Representatives late last week passed a pared-down version of the 2013 Farm Bill, which contains only farm programs. Illinois soybean growers were in Washington,... Read more
Illinois Soybean Director Sought for District 11 ISA is searching for a candidate to fill a vacated district director position. Interested soybean farmers from District 11, which includes Champaign, Coles, Douglas, Piatt and Edgar counties, may contact Darla Hamilton at the ISA office and express... Read more
Ferrie Gives Farmers a Sneak Peek at 2013 Soybean College In the next installment of ISA’s Management Matters radio campaign, independent agronomist Ken Ferrie will discuss what farmers can expect to learn at Farm Journal’s 2013 Soybean College, to be held July 24 in Heyworth, Ill. Tune into your... Read more
Soybean College Offers Practical, Hands-on Training Farmers seeking new opportunities to gain soybean production knowledge and management skills that can be applied in their own farming operations are invited to attend Farm Journal's 2013 Soybean College, sponsored by the Illinois soybean checkoff... Read more
ISB District Director Elections are July 2; Changes to Henry-Stark County Voting ISB district director elections for six open ISB districts will be held July 2, at county Extension offices in districts where vacancies exist. Open districts are as follows: District 3: Henderson, Henry, Mercer, Rock... Read more
Soybean Growers Disappointed in Failure of House to Pass Farm Bill Illinois soybean farmers are disappointed in the U.S. House of Representatives failure today to pass H.R. 1947, the Federal Agriculture Reform and Risk Management Act of 2013. The bill failed in a vote of 195-234. "We were... Read more
Illinois Soybean Farmers Applaud Quick Senate Farm Bill Approval, Urge Same in House Illinois soybean farmers applaud the quick action the U.S. Senate took this week in passing the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry's "Agricultural Reform, Food and Jobs Act of 2013." Among the... Read more
ISB At-Large Director Elections to be Held July 31 Two Illinois Soybean Board (ISB) at-large director positions expire July 31. Six candidates for the two openings have been nominated by a majority vote of the ISB board. A drawing will be held for the position of the names on the ballot, and the... Read more