BLOOMINGTON, ILL – December 14, 2012 – The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) honored retiring directors and soybean industry award winners at a meeting in Chicago, Dec. 13. 


"We were honored to recognize five Illinois soybean farmers that retired as directors in August.  Each has made significant contributions to the Illinois agriculture industry and in serving fellow Illinois soybean farmers," says Bill Wykes, soybean farmer from Yorkville, Ill., and ISA chairman.  "We appreciate their service, and know they will continue to promote our industry."


  • Doug Winter of Mill Shoals, Ill., retired as the District 16 director.  Winter has a cash grain farm in partnership with his brother, Richard.  He also is a certified crop adviser. He most recently served as ISA treasurer and as vice chair for image building.


  • Dale Crawford retired as the District 10 director.  He farms near Sullivan.  During his last year on the ISA board, he served as chairman of the marketing committee. He operates a fourth generation family farm with his wife, and raises corn and soybeans.


  • Pat Dumoulin served ISA for multiple terms as District 2 director.  In her most recent term, Pat was vice chair for animal agriculture. She is a former professor of economics and statistics at Elgin Community College.  She raises corn, soybeans and hogs near Hampshire, Ill., with her husband, two sons and son-in-law. 


  • Dean Campbell from Coulterville, Ill., represented District 17.  Dean also was ISA’s vice chair for other revenue and previously served as assistant secretary treasurer.  He has farmed all of his life on an operation that has been in the family for more than 160 years.


  • Matt Hughes from Shirley, Ill., is the immediate past chairman for ISA.  He is owner of Progressive Prairie, Inc., where the principle crops on his farm include specialty corns and soybeans, with a special emphasis on conservation practices.


ISA also awarded special recognition to several leaders within the agriculture industry:


  • Donna Reifschneider, pork producer from Smithton, Ill., was named ISA Excellence in Animal Agriculture award winner.  In addition to production, she previously served as administrator of the USDA Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration in the early 2000s, and is a past president of the National Pork Producers Council.


  •  Steve Jaeger is the ISA Excellence in Transportation winner.  Jaeger is the executive director of the Heart of Illinois Regional Port District based in Peoria, Ill., a unit of local government created by the Illinois legislature in 2003.  The port district encompasses more than 95 miles of the Illinois River.


  • Bryan Young is the ISA Excellence in Yield award winner.  The award recognizes an individual that helps farmers find ways to increase yields and profitability.  He is currently a professor of weed science/agronomy at Southern Illinois University Carbondale with responsibilities in teaching, research, outreach and administration.


  • The ISA Excellence in Quality Award winner is Nick Bajjalieh. He is an animal nutritionist and president of Integrative Nutrition, Inc., Decatur, Ill.  Bajjalieh's efforts have helped improve soybean meal as a livestock feed ingredient.


  • The ISA Excellence in Sustainability Award winner, Justin King, helps guide farmers toward accepting and employing sustainable soybean production practices.  He is a district conservationist with the Bond County Natural Resources Conservation Service.


  • Representative Aaron Schock is the ISA Excellence in Advocacy/Market Access award winner.  He represents the 18th Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives.  Congressman Schock is the youngest member of Congress and serves on the House Ways and Means Committee.  He has been a strong agriculture advocate.


  • Captain Robert Jornlin supports increased domestic biodiesel consumption.  As captain of the USS 325 LST Memorial, which runs on biodiesel, he is the ISA Excellence in Industrial Uses award winner.  He served in the Navy during the Korean War on a Landing Ship Tank (LST) and today works on the only active LST in operation.


  • Rick Barrows is the ISA Excellence in Aquaculture award winner.  He is a research physiologist with the USDA/Agricultural Research Service (ARS) Fish Technology Center in Bozeman, Mont.  Barrows joined ARS more than eight years ago to further develop fish feeds, including soy, for commercial production.


  • Deb Moore is the ISA Excellence in Image Building award winner.  She has helped enhance Illinois soybean farmers' positive image through outreach opportunities.  Moore farms with her husband, Ron, near Roseville, Ill., and serves as an Illinois Farm Families spokesperson and the lead for the Field Moms program.


  • Josh Flint is the ISA Excellence in Communications award winner.  He is editor for Prairie Farmer magazine. The award is given to a valued media partner that has been instrumental in increasing recognition of ISA programs among Illinois soybean farmers.


  • Philip Bradshaw is the ISA Excellence in Leadership award winner.  Bradshaw, a soybean and hog producer from Griggsville, Ill., is a past chairman for the United Soybean Board, World Initiative for Soy in Human Health and the World Soy Foundation.  He also has been active in state soybean leadership as well.


The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) represents more than 45,000 soybean farmers in Illinois through the state soybean checkoff and membership efforts.  The checkoff funds market development, soybean production and profitability research, promotion, issues management and analysis, communications and education.  Membership and advocacy efforts support Illinois soybean farmer interests in local areas, Springfield and Washington, D.C.  ISA programs are designed to ensure Illinois soy is the highest quality, most dependable, sustainable and competitive in the global marketplace.  For more information, visit the website



For more information, contact:
Amy Roady

Barb Baylor Anderson