ISA Elects 2013-14 Executive Committee, Seats New Directors

BLOOMINGTON, ILL – August 1, 2013 – The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) today elected its 2013-14 leadership and seated new directors to its board. 

Bill Raben, Ridgway, was elected to serve as chairman for the new year. 

"I want to do what is best for ISA and Illinois soybean producers," says Raben.  "I want to build a strong board, show our farmers that the checkoff is a good return on their investment and benefits them, and increase our membership."

Other executive committee members include Mike Marron, Fithian, as vice chairman;  Rob Shaffer, El Paso, as treasurer; Dan Farney, Morton, as secretary; David Droste, Nashville, as assistant secretary-treasurer; Don Guinnip, Marshall, as production committee chair; and Mark Sprague, New Canton, as marketing committee chair.

Raben previously served as ISA vice chairman and chair for the membership task force.  He operates a family farm with his brother.  Raben has been an active member of the Illinois Farm Bureau, Gallatin County Soil & Water Conservation District and Wabash Valley Service Company.  He has a bachelor's degree in agronomy from Southern Illinois University Carbondale, and was a high school ag instructor prior to farming full-time. 

Marron was ISA's assistant treasurer-secretary and chair of the ISA market access and advocacy target area.  He is a previous ISA Soy Ambassador and is on the World Initiative for Soy in Human Health (WISHH) Committee.  Marron serves on the Vermillion County Board.  He is Murray State University ag economics graduate.

Shaffer was ISA's treasurer and is a past secretary.  He is part of a fourth generation family farm with his brother, raising corn, soybeans and specialty soybeans and has an Angus cow-calf herd.  He currently serves as president of the Illinois Livestock Development Group.  He holds an ag business degree with animal science minor from Illinois State University. 

Farney was ISA's secretary, and vice chair for image building.  He raises no-till soybeans and corn.  He was an Illinois Soy Leader, and is active in the World Initiative for Soy in Human Health (WISHH), having served as treasurer.  He has been involved with Illinois and Tazewell County Farm Bureau committees and serves on the World Soy Foundation Board of Trustees. 

Droste was last year's vice chair for producer communications.  He has served on the Washington County Farm Bureau board, Washington County Soil and Water Conservation District board, Illinois Farm Bureau Ag Leaders of Tomorrow program and Southwestern Illinois Resource Conservation & Development Council. 

Guinnip was a vice chair for ISA's sustainability target area.  He raises corn and soybeans and is active in the community.  He is a member of the Illinois Farm Bureau and has held offices in the Clark County Farm Bureau.  Guinnip attended Southern Illinois University Carbondale. 

Sprague raises soybeans in Pike County.  He participated in the ISA Soy Leaders program, Pike County Farm Bureau and Waterways Council.  He was ISA's most recent vice chair for the marketing committee.  He previously was a grain merchant for ADM from 1985 to 2004.  He attended the University of Illinois. 

Two new at-large directors, Lynn Rohrscheib, Fairmount, and Jeff Lynn, Oakford, were elected to the board.  Also seated to the board were new directors John Longley, Aledo, District 3; Sharon Covert, Tiskilwa, District 4; Dale Asher, Sutter, District 8; and Daryl Cates, Columbia, District 15.  Re-elected directors include Shaffer, District 6; and Raben, District 18.  Doug Schroeder, Mahomet, was selected to fill the remainder of the current District 11 director term. 

Mike Cunningham, Bismarck, and Ron Moore, Roseville, were elected to represent Illinois soybean growers on the American Soybean Association (ASA) board.

The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) represents more than 45,000 soybean farmers in Illinois through the state soybean checkoff and membership efforts.  The checkoff funds market development, soybean production and profitability research, promotion, issues management and analysis, communications and education.  Membership and advocacy efforts support Illinois soybean farmer interests in local areas, Springfield and Washington, D.C.  ISA programs are designed to ensure Illinois soy is the highest quality, most dependable, sustainable and competitive in the global marketplace.  For more information, visit the website


For more information
contact Amy Roady

Photo Cutline:  The Illinois Soybean Association elected officers Aug. 1, 2013.  They include, front row, left to right, Mark Sprague, marketing committee chair; Bill Raben, chairman; Mike Marron, vice chairman; back row, David Droste, assistant secretary-treasurer; Don Guinnip, production committee chair; Dan Farney, secretary; and Rob Shaffer, treasurer.